Print this page

Croatia introduces PCR test at border crossings – stricter Covid-19 measures

Written by  Dec 01, 2020

On Monday, the Civil Protection Headquarters of the Republic of Croatia passed a decision on a temporary ban and restriction of crossings at the border crossings of the Republic of Croatia.

The decision mostly applies to third-country nationals who are not part of the European Union, and this category of passengers cannot enter the territory of the Republic of Croatia without presenting a negative PCR test not older than 48 hours or testing immediately after entering our territory with mandatory self-isolation until a negative test is produced.

This new decision has some exceptions, including health professionals, people traveling for education, diplomats, border workers and passengers in transit.

This new PCR test rule does also not apply to citizens of European Union countries who are in the Schengen area and belong to the "green zone."

The Minister of the Interior, Davor Božinović, commented on the adopted changes, “A new decision was made today restricting the crossing at the border crossings of the Republic of Croatia. The new proposal is harmonized with the EU and is linked to European regions according to the ECDC map. Passengers coming from green areas of the EU do not need a PCR test or fulfilment of additional conditions for entering the Republic of Croatia. All other passengers coming from the EU should present a negative PCR test that is not older than 48 hours or be tested for Covid-19 upon arrival in the Republic of Croatia and be in self-isolation until the findings are ready. There is an exception, and these are border workers, students and pupils, seafarers, people who travel for necessary private or business reasons and patients who travel for necessary reasons.”


support the dubrovnik times