Saturday, 22 January 2022
Plitvice Lakes Plitvice Lakes

Croatia’s eight UNESCO world heritage sites

Written by  May 23, 2017

The latest list of the UNESCO's world heritage includes 814 cultural, 203 natural, and 35 mixed monuments, and totals 1,052 protected cultural and natural monuments in 165 countries worldwide. Eight gems from Croatia also found their place on this prestigious list and are waiting for you to discover them.

Among the numerous world popular UNESCO's sites such as Stonehenge, the Pyramids, and the Cathedral of Notre-Dame, there are the Plitvice Lakes National Park, the Historical Complex of Split with the Palace of Diocletian, the Old City of Dubrovnik, the Episcopal Complex of the Euphrasian Basilica in the Historic Centre of Porec, the Historic Town of Trogir, the Cathedral of Saint James in Sibenik, the Stari Grad Plain on the island of Hvar, and the Graveyards of the Medieval Tombstones (''stećci'') at Dubravka in the Konavle region and at Cista Velika near Imotski.

The UNESCO's list also includes intangible cultural heritage in Croatia such as the annual carnival bell ringers' pageant from the Kastav area, the Festivity of Saint Blaise, the patron of Dubrovnik, the lace making tradition in Croatia, the Procession ''Za Krizen'' (''Following the Cross'') on the island of Hvar, the Spring Procession of Ljelje/Kraljice (Our Lady) from Gorjani, the traditional manufacturing of children's wooden toys in the Hrvatsko Zagorje region, the two-part singing and playing in the Istrian scale, the gingerbread craft from Northern Croatia, a knights' tournament of Sinjska Alka in Sinj, the so-called ''becarac'' singing and playing from Eastern Croatia, the Silent Circle dance (Nijemo Kolo) of the Dalmatian Hinterland, the klapa multipart singing in the Dalmatia region, as well as the Mediterranean cuisine.

The Voice of Dubrovnik


Find us on Facebook